• info@belibre.org

News Update: Statement on Expansion of Travel Ban

(Arlington – VA) Recently, the White House announced the expansion of new travel restrictions under Executive Order 13780, otherwise referred to as the “Travel Ban.” Effective February 21st, the Administration will impose new restrictions on citizens from Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Nigeria, Sudan, and Tanzania.

Kevin Hernandez, Policy Director of The LIBRE Initiative, released the following statement in response to the White House announcement:

“Continued efforts to restrict legal immigration under the guise of security, without an ability to demonstrate how such actions improve public safety public, should be rejected point blank. It is simply a false choice to believe that we must restrict legal immigration in order to protect public safety. We can have both secure and robust legal immigration channels welcoming those want to work hard and contribute to society.”

Hernandez went on to add:

“Furthermore, while these restrictions are being “imposed” on citizens from the specified countries, the policy will also make it more difficult for Americans to sponsor a spouse or a family member for an immigrant visa – or have the ability to hire and sponsor a prospective employee for an employment-based green card – if they’re citizens of certain countries.”